Best Expense Tracker Apps With Bank Sync and Easy Setup
Nine expense trackers with bank sync, judged on setup: what each asks for before your first synced transaction, its trial, price and platforms.
Some do, but fewer than you might expect. Of the budgeting apps we checked on October 30, 2026, YNAB's 34-day trial asks for no credit card, Monarch's 7-day trial requires a payment method, and Copilot's trial starts with picking a plan that renews automatically. Most of the others don't say either way on their own pages, so look at the sign-up screen before you type a card number.
Below: every app's trial terms in one table, why some trials want a card, which envelope apps let you try them free, and when another app is the better pick. Spense is one of the options, with a 14-day free trial — no credit card required.
A few do, and they say so plainly. YNAB's pricing page reads "How About 34 Days for Free? No credit card required!", and Spense asks for no card during its 14-day trial. Monarch says the opposite in as many words: "Payment method required." Rocket Money, PocketGuard and EveryDollar all offer a trial of their paid plan but don't say on their pricing pages whether it takes a card, and Goodbudget and Simplifi have no trial at all.
Trial terms as each app's own pricing, sign-up or help page showed them (checked October 30, 2026).
| App | Free trial | Card or payment method to start | Calls itself envelope budgeting? | Price after the trial | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spense | 14 days | No | Yes, in Classic mode (“give every dollar a job”) | $2.99/month or $24.99/year | iPhone, Android |
| YNAB | 34 days | No (“No credit card required!”) | Not in those words: it asks “What’s your money for?” | $14.99/month or $109/year | iOS, Android, web, watchOS |
| Monarch | 7 days | Yes (“Payment method required”) | Not on the pages we read | Core $14.99/month or $99.99/year; Plus $199.99/year | Web, iOS, Android |
| Copilot Money | Length not stated | You pick an annual or monthly plan to start it, and it renews automatically | Not on the pages we read | $109/year (a limited-time offer, instead of $119) | iPhone, iPad, Mac, web (no Android app) |
| Rocket Money Premium | 7 days (there is also a free plan, without budgets) | Not stated | Not on the pages we read | Pay what you think is fair, typically $7–$14/month | iOS, Android (web for Premium only) |
| PocketGuard | 7 days | Not stated | Not on the pages we read | $74.99/year | Web, iPhone, Apple Watch, Android |
| EveryDollar Premium | 14 days (the free version needs none) | Not stated | Not on the pages we read | $17.99/month or $79.99/year | Not on the pages we read |
| Goodbudget | No trial: a free plan instead | Not stated (the free plan is $0) | Yes (“Envelope budgeting for the modern world”) | Premium $10/month or $80/year, which adds bank sync (US banks only) | Web, Android, iPhone |
| Simplifi | None on its page | — | Not on the pages we read | $3.99/month billed annually for the first year (a sale until November 29, 2026; $6.99 list) | Web and mobile |
"Not stated" means the app's own page didn't answer the question when we checked, not that the answer is yes or no. Prices and trials change, so treat the table as a snapshot of October 30, 2026.
A trial that takes a payment method is set up to turn into a subscription by itself. Monarch's reads "Free 7-day trial, then $99.99/year. Cancel in settings before trial ends." and Copilot's help center says its free trial "will automatically renew".
Trials bought through the App Store or Google Play work the same way. Starting one charges nothing that day, and the store charges the payment method on your account when it ends unless you cancel in your phone's subscription settings. If you start one, put a reminder in your calendar for the day before it ends.
Yes, though the list is short. Of the apps above, two describe their own method as envelopes:
YNAB also gives you 34 days with no card, the longest trial on the list, but its own pages don't call its method envelopes: they put it as one question, "What's your money for?". If envelopes are new to you, our guide to envelope budgeting covers the method before you pick an app.
To make the most of the 14 days, the first-budget guide gets a month on screen in a few minutes, and the pricing page has the plans side by side.
Often, yes, when you gave a payment method to start it. Monarch says “Free 7-day trial, then $99.99/year. Cancel in settings before trial ends.” Copilot says its free trial “will automatically renew”, and Rocket Money says that once the Premium trial ends your monthly subscription continues at the price you picked. A trial that never took a card has nothing to charge.
It depends on what the free plan leaves out. Goodbudget’s free plan gives you 10 regular envelopes plus 10 more, one account, two devices and a year of history, and bank sync is a paid feature. Rocket Money’s free plan has subscription tracking and a spending breakdown by category, but no budgets. EveryDollar’s free version has you enter transactions by hand. A trial shows you the whole app for a while; a free plan shows you part of it for as long as you like.
Among the apps above that describe their own method as envelopes, Spense’s Classic mode comes with a 14-day trial and no card, and Goodbudget has a free plan instead of a trial. YNAB’s 34-day trial needs no card either, though YNAB’s own pages describe its method with one question, “What’s your money for?”, rather than as envelopes.
In Spense, yes: you pick Classic or Auto when you set it up, and Classic works without a bank. You add an account and enter its balance by hand, and the trial is the same either way.
Competitor prices and trial terms checked October 30, 2026 on each app's own pricing, sign-up or help page.
Classic or Auto, on iPhone and Android. 14-day free trial — no credit card required.
Keep exploring envelope budgeting and financial wellness
Nine expense trackers with bank sync, judged on setup: what each asks for before your first synced transaction, its trial, price and platforms.

Short on time? Pick an app that files your transactions, shows the month's pace in one glance and sums up the month for you. Seven apps compared, prices dated.

Which budget apps sort your transactions automatically without charging extra for it? Each app's plans, read from its own pricing page on October 30, 2026.