
Best Budget App for Busy Professionals: No Daily Reviews
Short on time? Pick an app that files your transactions, shows the month's pace in one glance and sums up the month for you. Seven apps compared, prices dated.
The easiest expense trackers with bank sync let you link a bank before you hand over a card, and don't keep sync behind an upgrade. On October 30, 2026, YNAB's 34-day trial needed no credit card and Rocket Money linked accounts on its free plan, while Monarch's trial asked for a payment method and Goodbudget and EveryDollar kept bank sync on their paid plans.
Below: nine apps compared on exactly that, each read from the app's own pricing or help page on October 30, 2026, then the shortest routes to a first synced transaction, what happens after it, how setup goes in Spense, and when another app is the better pick.
We didn't time other apps' sign-up screens. Each row is what the app's own pages said on October 30, 2026: what it asks for before your first synced transaction, which plan includes sync, the price, and where it runs. "Not stated" means the page didn't say.
| App | What it asks for before the first sync | Bank sync is part of | Price | Runs on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spense | Nothing: no card | The paid plan; it works during the 14-day free trial | $2.99/mo or $24.99/yr | iPhone, Android (US banks) |
| YNAB | Nothing: "No credit card required" | Its one plan, as optional Direct Import; 34-day free trial | $109/year or $14.99/month | iOS, Android, web, watchOS |
| Monarch | A payment method ("Payment method required") | Core and Plus; 7-day free trial | Core $99.99/year or $14.99/month | Web, iOS, Android |
| Copilot Money | Choosing an annual or monthly subscription, which renews automatically | Its one plan ("Connect to 16,000+ banks"); free trial, length not stated | $109/year (a limited-time offer, "instead of $119") | iPhone, iPad, Mac, web; no Android app |
| Rocket Money | Nothing for the free plan | The free plan (spending by category); budgets are Premium | Free; Premium "typically" $7–$14/month; Premium+ $15/month | iOS, Android (web for Premium only) |
| PocketGuard | Not stated on its pricing page | Premium ("Unlimited bank accounts"); 7-day free trial | $74.99/year | Web, iPhone, Apple Watch, Android (US and Canadian banks) |
| Goodbudget | Paying for Premium: the free plan has no bank sync | Premium only (US banks only) | Free; Premium $10/month or $80/year | Web, Android, iPhone |
| EveryDollar | Starting Premium: the free version is manual entry | Premium only; 14-day free trial | Free; Premium $79.99/year or $17.99/month | Computer, phone or tablet |
| Simplifi | Paying: no free trial on its page | Its paid plan | $3.99/month billed annually for the first year (list $6.99/month) | Web and mobile |
Checked October 30, 2026 on each app's own site. Prices are in US dollars and change; Copilot's and Simplifi's are time-limited offers on their pages.
The link takes a minute; the habit is what you sign up for. From the same pages:
After the welcome screen, four short screens come before you pick your bank, and none of them asks for a card. The connect-a-bank guide shows the bank part screen by screen.
Pick how to sign in
Continue with Apple (on iPhone), Google or email, or tap Continue without an account and back it up later.
Two quick questions
Your first name, and how you heard about Spense. You can skip the second one.
Tap "Link my bank"
The other choice, "I'll add things myself", builds a budget without a bank.
Pick how you budget
Auto ("Sort it for me") is already selected when you link a bank. Classic ("Give every dollar a job") is the envelope mode. The mode you pick here stays.
Sign in to your bank on Plaid's screen
Pick your bank, sign in, and choose the accounts to share. Spense gets read-only access to transactions and balances; your bank password never goes into a Spense form.
Your first transactions arrive
In Auto, your most recent transactions come in and are filed, up to about 30 per bank connection. In Classic, the budget starts from the day you link, and new transactions arrive in Review for you to approve.
Rather start without a bank? The first-budget guide covers the by-hand route, and you can add accounts you track by hand next to linked ones.
The easiest ones let you link a bank before you hand over a card. On October 30, 2026, YNAB's 34-day trial said no credit card was required, Spense's trial needs none either, and Rocket Money links accounts on its free plan. Monarch's trial asked for a payment method, Copilot's starts a subscription, and Goodbudget and EveryDollar keep bank sync on their paid plans.
Not always. YNAB and Spense both start a trial without one, and Rocket Money's free plan needs no payment at all. Monarch's pricing page says "Payment method required" for its 7-day trial, and Copilot's help center says you choose an annual or monthly subscription to start its trial.
No. A synced transaction reaches an app after your bank reports it, so the newest purchase can take a while to appear. Your bank's own app is the place for a to-the-minute balance; a budget is for the shape of the month.
Spense can't: it asks Plaid for read-only access to your transactions and balances, so it has no way to start a transfer or a payment. For any app, check what access it asks for before you connect. Our post on linking a bank covers what to look for.
Not today. Spense links US banks only. If your bank is in Canada, PocketGuard lists connections to US and Canadian banks on its pricing page.
Before you link anything, read is it safe to link your bank to a budgeting app. For how sync covers checking, savings and cards together, see a budget app without manual entry, and on Android, our Android budget app roundup.
Published October 2026. Competitor trials, prices and platforms verified October 30, 2026 on each company's own site.
Spense syncs your accounts during the 14-day free trial — no credit card required.
Keep exploring envelope budgeting and financial wellness

Short on time? Pick an app that files your transactions, shows the month's pace in one glance and sums up the month for you. Seven apps compared, prices dated.

Which budget apps sort your transactions automatically without charging extra for it? Each app's plans, read from its own pricing page on October 30, 2026.

Which budget apps let you try them free without a credit card? Trial length, card rules, envelope style and platforms for nine apps, checked October 30, 2026.